Warner Bros. Announces its 'Suicide Squad' Cast

Will Smith, Tom Hardy, Margot Robbie, Jared Leto, Jai Courtney, and Cara Delevingne are all set to star in the DC Comics-based film Suicide Squad, Warner Bros. has announced.

Suiced Squad, which features a group of incarcerated supervillains teaming together to clear their criminal records, will feature Smith as Deadshot, Robbie as Harley Quinn, Leto as the Joker, Courtney as Boomerang, and Delevigne as Enchantress. The teams leader, Rick Flagg, will be played by Hardy.

The film is currently being written by Fury director David Ayer, who is also set to direct as well.

"The Warner Bros. roots are deep on this one," said Greg Silverman, president, creative development and worldwide production, in the announcement. "David Ayer returns to the studio where he wrote Training Day and brings his incredible ability to craft multidimensional villains to this iconic DC property with a cast of longtime Warner collaborators Will Smith and Tom Hardy, and other new and returning favorites: Margot, Jared, Jai and Cara," Silverman continued. "We look forward to seeing this terrific ensemble, under Ayer’s amazing guidance, give new meaning to what it means to be a villain and what it means to be a hero."

Suicide Squad currently has a release date of August 5, 2016.