'A Star is Born' and 'Roma' Top the 2018 Georgia Film Critics Association Awards

This past weekend the Georgia Film Critics Association announced the winners celebrating the best in film in 2018.

A Star is Born was designated as Best Picture, also taking home awards for Best Supporting Actor for Sam Elliott and Best Original Song for “Shallow.” Alfonso Cuarón’s Roma won three awards—Best Director, Best Cinematography and Best Foreign Film. The Favourite also took home three awards—Best Supporting Actress (Emma Stone), Best Production Design and Best Ensemble. Eighth Grade received Best Original Screenplay for writer-director Bo Burnham while star Elsie Fisher received the Breakthrough Award. Ryan Coogler’s “Black Panther” won the Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema.

Founded in 2011, this year marks the 8th annual awards program for the critics group. GAFCA is made up of 32 film critics from around the state, representing print, television, radio and online media. For more information on the Georgia Film Critics Association, visit www.georgiafilmcritics.org.

The complete list of winners is as follows:

Best Picture
"Eighth Grade"
"The Favourite"
"First Man"
"First Reformed"
"If Beale Street Could Talk"
"A Quiet Place"
"A Star is Born"
"Won't You Be My Neighbor?"

Best Director
"BlacKkKlansman" - Spike Lee
"The Favourite" - Yorgos Lanthimos
"If Beale Street Could Talk" - Barry Jenkins
"Roma" - Alfonso Cuarón
"A Star is Born" - Bradley Cooper

Best Actor
Christian Bale ("Vice")
Bradley Cooper ("A Star is Born")
Ethan Hawke ("First Reformed")
Rami Malek ("Bohemian Rhapsody")
John David Washington ("BlacKkKlansman")

Best Actress
Yalitza Aparicio ("Roma")
Toni Collette ("Hereditary")
Olivia Colman ("The Favourite")
Elsie Fisher ("Eighth Grade")
Lady Gaga ("A Star is Born")

Best Supporting Actor
Mahershala Ali ("Green Book")
Timothée Chalamet ("Beautiful Boy")
Adam Driver ("BlacKkKlansman")
Sam Elliott ("A Star is Born")
Richard E. Grant ("Can You Ever Forgive Me?")

Best Supporting Actress
Amy Adams ("Vice")
Claire Foy ("First Man")
Regina King ("If Beale Street Could Talk")
Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie ("Leave No Trace")
Emma Stone ("The Favourite")
Rachel Weisz ("The Favourite")

Best Original Screenplay
"Eighth Grade" - Bo Burnham
"The Favourite" - Deborah Davis & Tony McNamara
"First Reformed" - Paul Schrader
"A Quiet Place" - Bryan Woods, Scott Beck & John Krasinski
"Roma" - Alfonso Cuarón

Best Adapted Screenplay
"BlacKkKlansman" - Spike Lee, David Rabinowitz, Charlie Wachtel & Kevin Willmott
"Black Panther" - Joe Robert Cole & Ryan Coogler
"If Beale Street Could Talk" - Barry Jenkins
"Leave No Trace" - Debra Granik & Anne Rosellini
"A Star is Born" - Bradley Cooper, Will Fetters & Eric Roth

Best Cinematography
"Black Panther" - Rachel Morrison
"The Favourite" - Robbie Ryan
"First Man" - Linus Sandgren
"If Beale Street Could Talk" - James Laxton
"Roma" - Alfonso Cuarón

Best Production Design
"Black Panther" - Hannah Beachler, Jay Hart
"The Favourite" - Fiona Crombie, Alice Felton
"First Man" - Nathan Crowley, Kathy Lucas
"If Beale Street Could Talk" - Mark Friedberg, Kris Moran
"Ready Player One" - Adam Stockhausen, Mark Scruton

Best Original Score
"Annihilation" - Geoff Barrow, Ben Salisbury
"BlacKkKlansman" - Terence Blanchard
"Black Panther" - Ludwig Göransson
"First Man" - Justin Hurwitz
"If Beale Street Could Talk" - Nicholas Britell "
Isle of Dogs" - Alexandre Desplat

Best Original Song
"All the Stars" - Kendrick Lamar, SZA, Mark Spears, Al Shuckburgh, Anthony Tiffith ("Black Panther")
"Girl in the Movies" - Dolly Parton & Linda Perry ("Dumplin'")
"Maybe It's Time" - Jason Isbell ("A Star is Born")
"The Place Where the Lost Things Go" - Marc Shaiman & Scott Wittman ("Mary Poppins Returns")
"Shallow" - Lady Gaga, Mark Ronson, Anthony Rossomando, Andrew Wyatt ("A Star is Born")
"Suspirium" - Thom Yorke ("Suspiria")
"Trip A Little Light Fantastic" - Marc Shaiman & Scott Wittman ("Mary Poppins Returns")

Best Ensemble
"Black Panther"
"Crazy Rich Asians"
"The Favourite"
"If Beale Street Could Talk"

Best Foreign Film
"Cold War"
"The Guilty"

Breakthrough Award
Yalitza Aparicio ("Roma")
Elsie Fisher ("Eighth Grade")
Lady Gaga ("A Star is Born")
KiKi Layne ("If Beale Street Could Talk")
Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie ("Leave No Trace")

Best Animated Film
"Incredibles 2"
"Isle of Dogs"
"Ralph Breaks the Internet"
"Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse"

Best Documentary Film
"Free Solo"
"Minding The Gap"
"Three Identical Strangers"
"Won't You Be My Neighbor?"

Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema
"Avengers: Infinity War"
"Black Panther" - Ryan Coogler, Joe Robert Cole
"Boy Erased"
"The Emissary" (short)
"First Man"
"Game Night"
"The Hate U Give"
"Love, Simon"
"Poor Jane"

Matt Rodriguez
News by Matt Rodriguez
Follow him @ Twitter
Friend him @ Facebook