>> Electric Six: Zodiac (2010)

Artist: Electric Six

Album: Zodiac

Members: Dick Valentine, Dick Valentine, The Colonel, The Colonel, Johnny Na$hinal, Johnny Na$hinal, Smorgasbord!, Smorgasbord!, Tait Nucleus?, Tait Nucleus?, Percussion World, Percussion World

Genre: Rock

Label: Metropolis Records

Tracks: 12

Type: LP

Release Date: September 28, 2010

Discs: 1

Rating: 3.95 (out of 4.00)

Grade: A

Official Site


The cover of The Rubberband Man was originally recorded by The Spinners.

I had the opportunity to review an Electric Six album in 08 (Flashy) and it was my first experience with the band. Their sound was like The Rocky Horror Picture Show just insane and twisted and fun. Their newest album, Zodiac, has that same psychotic fun but with a more classic rock sound the likes of Pink Floyd, Aerosmith, or an emulator like BigElf. The band mixes a plethora of sounds within their mix from disco horns to Space Rock emulating synths. Lyrically the band hasn’t changed as they go on passionate tirades about cheese, cats, and other stuff that doesn’t quite make sense but somehow fits into the whole scheme of things within their own unique world.

Dick Valentine is as ferocious as ever creating a presence that is both very rock and roll and yet mockingly so. Imagine Dave Wyndorf (Monster Magnet), The Flaming Lips, the silliness of Spinal Tap, backed by the Frank Zappa Band. The passion is there but at the core is the presence of The Great Rock and Roll Swindle. Musically the band is all over the map on this one; blues, funk, disco, electronic, rock, experimental. Say what you will about the bands lack of message lyrically they may be some of the finest musicians put together under one roof proving there is no genre they can’t master and use to give base to their ridiculousness. If you’ve never given Electric Six a chance its very advisable to at least peruse one of their albums. I’m not saying your going to fall in love with them, you may not, but if you’ve got an open mind and your looking for something new this may just be it. Enjoy.

Track Listing:
1. After Hours
2. American Cheese
3. Clusterfuck!
4. Countdown to the Countdown
5. Doom and Gloom and Doom and Gloom
6. Jam It In the Hole
7. I Am A Song!
8. It Ain't Punk Rock
9. Love Song For Myself
10. The Rubberband Man
11. Table and Chairs
12. Talking Turkey






Very jealous of you and all the other journalists who have their hands on Zodiac early! I'm one of their biggest fans and this might be their best album yet. Here's to hoping they keep releasing a new record year after year.

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Grade It!


Amazon Block 1

Recent Addi(c)tions

DVD Review
Wednesday, November 23, 2011 - 10:32PM
Theatrical Review
Wednesday, November 23, 2011 - 5:47PM
TV News
Wednesday, November 23, 2011 - 12:58PM
Movie Interview
Wednesday, November 23, 2011 - 11:48AM
Movie Interview
Wednesday, November 23, 2011 - 11:36AM
Theatrical Review
Wednesday, November 23, 2011 - 10:43AM
Movie News
Tuesday, November 22, 2011 - 4:18PM
DVD Review
Tuesday, November 22, 2011 - 3:24PM
TV News
Tuesday, November 22, 2011 - 2:28PM
CD Review
Tuesday, November 22, 2011 - 11:23AM
TV News
Tuesday, November 22, 2011 - 11:06AM
CD Review
Tuesday, November 22, 2011 - 8:08AM
CD Review
Monday, November 21, 2011 - 9:35PM
TV News
Monday, November 21, 2011 - 9:15PM
Music News
Monday, November 21, 2011 - 7:45PM

Amazon Block 2